WOLFMOTHER Unveiled 'Cosmic Egg' Artwork

Posted by Captain Beyond Zen on Friday, August 14, 2009

The cover artwork for "Cosmic Egg", the forthcoming second album from the Australian retro-rock combo WOLFMOTHER, was unveiled.

The group's first album since the departure of drummer Myles Heskett and bassist/keyboardist Chris Ross, "Cosmic Egg" was recorded in Los Angeles with heralded U.K. producer Alan Moulder.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. California Queen
02. New Moon Rising
03. White Feather
04. Sundial
05. In The Morning
06. 10,000 Feet
07. Cosmic Egg
08. Far Away
09. Pilgrim
10. In The Castle
11. Phoenix
12. Violence Of The Sun

"Cosmic Egg" will be released on the following dates:

Japan: October 8
Australia, Germany, and New Zealand: October 9
Europe: October 12
USA: October 13

The album's first single, "New Moon Rising", will see its worldwide debut this Friday morning (August 14) between 6:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. on Triple J's "Breakfast Show" in Australia.

WOLFMOTHER will embark on the "New Moon Rising Tour" of Australia in September. Support on the trek will come from fresh-faced Brisbane rockers YVES KLEIN BLUE and recent Australian Music Prize winner, Sydney troubadour JACK LADDER.

WOLFMOTHER guitarist/frontman Andrew Stockdale recently spoke to MTV News about "Cosmic Egg", whicih showcases the added punch of three new musicians (rhythm guitarist Aidan Nemeth, bassist/keyboardist Ian Peres and drummer Dave Atkins).

"I used to think musicians were like monks ... and music was like a religious path, because it tests you. It tests your ego, your jealousies, your competitiveness — all those things. How it's going to consume you. If you can keep writing songs. It tests you in so many ways," Stockdale told MTV News. "I decided to answer those challenges, for one, because I can't help myself, but also, because I'm the WOLFMOTHER guy all the time. I'm the dude from WOLFMOTHER. It confronts me all the time. I didn't want to justify myself to the press, or explain what happened, or what didn't happen, or who said what, or why. ... I didn't want to get involved in all that. So I thought the best thing to do was just make music and let that speak for itself."

He continued, "For a while, I was thinking of not going forward as WOLFMOTHER ... but then, eventually, I decided just to do it. It's a bizarre situation, because you're making new music, but you're also connected to the first record, and the new people are replacing people. It's not a new band with a fresh slate. But once we got started making this record, I thought, 'It's more of a challenge to continue as WOLFMOTHER,' because there is a first record, there is something to compare it to ... and that makes you push yourself."

WOLFMOTHER will support AC/DC on their upcoming tour of Australia.

WOLFMOTHER's 2006 debut sold more than 500,000 copies in the U.S. and featured the Grammy-winning single "Woman".


Post a Comment