HAWKWIND: New album 'Blood Of The Earth'

Posted by Captain Beyond Zen on Thursday, April 29, 2010

The original pioneers of Space Rock return with their eagerly awaited stunning new album - Blood Of The Earth, their first in 5 years. Produced by the band at state of the art recording facility Earth Studios, Blood Of The Earth takes the listener on a journey through crushing visceral space rock, doom driven poetry, whimsical mantras and imagination opera. An example of humans and machines pulsing in harmony out into the void........ Hawkwind are an English rock band, one of the earliest space rock groups. Their lyrics favour urban and science fiction themes. They are also a noted precursor to punk rock and now are considered a link between the hippie and punk cultures. Formed in November 1969 by singer-songwriter and guitarist Dave Brock, Hawkwind have gone through many incarnations and styles of music. Critic Jim Green describes their trademark sound as characterized by "that gargantuan and impenetrable pre-metal/hardcore drone, those great riffs, that inexorable drive to destinations unknown". Dozens of musicians have worked with the group; notable fantasy and science fiction writer Michael Moorcock was an occasional collaborator.

01. Seahawks
02. Blood Of The Earth
03. Wraith
04. Green Machine
05. Inner Visions
06. Sweet Obsession
07. Comfey Chair
08. Prometheus
09. Youd Better Believe It
10. Sentinel
11. Starshine (Bonus Track)

Hear tracks from the album at this location.


Post a Comment